Cee-Lo

It occurs to me that many of you are just discovering Cee-Lo over these last few years. Between his monstrous hit single, “Fuck You” and his current spot on NBC’s, “The Voice,” he is becoming a bonafied mainstream superstar. However, hip-hop heads like myself have known Cee-Lo since his days with Goodie Mob, an Atlanta-based hip-hop crew that did some some significant success in the mid to late 90’s. If you find yourself thinking, “Man, that guy is awesome!,” you would be correct. In fact, take a look at his verse from one of Goodie Mob’s biggest hits, “Cell Therapy.” It speaks volumes about how amazing and talented Mr. Cee-Lo Brown is!

Me and my family moved in our apartment complex
A gate with the serial code was put up next
The claim that this community is so drug-free
But it don’t look that way to me cause I can see
The young bloods hanging out at the store 24/7
Junkies looking got a hit of the blow – it’s powerful
Oh, you know what else they tryin to do?
Make a curfew especially for me and you the traces of the new world order
Time is getting shorter if we don’t get prepared
People it’s gonna be a slaughter
My mind won’t allow me to not be curious
My folk don’t understand so they don’t take it serious
But every now and then, I wonder
If the gate was put up to keep crime out or to keep our ass in?!?

Leave a Reply

