Hard Times

You can find inspiration in the unlikeliest of places. For me, pro wrestling has always been a source. There is nothing like a well-executed promo, especially when it’s timely. Of course, the most iconic promos are timeless. Take this promo from Dusty Rhodes. For those of you who may not know, Dusty is one of the all-time great professional wrestlers. He saw the bulk of his success from the late 70’s until the early 90’s, but his influence on professional wrestling is without par and continues to this day. This promo was shot in 1985. When you feel the emotion and connect the dots to today’s trials and tribulations…well, as I alluded to earlier, you can find inspiration in the unlikeliest of places.

“First of all, I would like to thank the many, many fans throughout this country that wrote cards and letters to Dusty Rhodes, the American Dream while I was down. Secondly, I wanna thank Jim Crockett Promotions for waiting and taking the time because I know how important it was, Starrcade ’85, it is to the wrestling fans and is to Jim Crockett Promotions and Dusty Rhodes, the American Dream. With that wait, got what I wanted: Ric Flair, the World’s Heavyweight Champion. I don’t have to say a lot more about the way I feel about Ric Flair. No respect, no honor, there is no honor among thieves in the first place. He put hard times on Dusty Rhodes and his family. You don’t know what hard times are, daddy.

Hard times are when the textile workers around this country are outta work. They got four, five kids, and can’t pay their wages, can’t buy their food. Hard times are when the auto workers are out of work and they tell ’em, ‘go home.’ And hard times are when a man has worked at a job 30 years, 30 years!, they give him a watch, kick him in the butt and say, ‘hey, a computer took your place, daddy.’ That’s hard times. That’s hard times. And, Ric Flair, you put hard times on this country by taking Dusty Rhodes out. That’s hard times.

And we all had hard times together. I’ll admit I don’t look like the athlete of the day is supposed to look. My belly’s just a little big, my hiney is just a little big, but, brother, I am bad and they know I’m bad. There were two bad people. One was John Wayne and he’s dead, brother. And the other one’s right here. “Nature Boy” Ric Flair, the World’s Heavyweight Title belongs to these people. I’m going to reach out right now. I want you at home to know my hand is touching your hand, for this gathering of the biggest body of people in this country and this universe, all over the world, now reachin’ out, because love that was given me in this time, I will repay you now, because I will be the next World’s Heavyweight Champion of this hard time blues. Dusty Rhodes tour, ’85 and Ric Flair…Nature Boy…let me leave you with this:

One way to hurt Ric Flair is to take what he cherishes more than anything in the world, that’s the World’s Heavyweight Title. I’ma take it. I been there twice. This time when I take it, daddy, I’m gonna take it for you. Let’s gather for it. Don’t let me down now because I came back for you, for that man up there, that died 10-12 years ago and never got the opportunity to see a real World’s Champion. I’m proud of you and thank God I have you. And I love you. Love you!”

Leave a Reply

