Finding Hope

Today, it’s easier than ever to become disillusioned. In fact, many out there are proud of their ignorance. “I don’t care.” “They don’t care about me, so why should I care about them?” “We can’t do anything. Our vote doesn’t count.” I could go on and on. Don’t get me wrong. I understand the sentiment. Misinformation, propaganda and a ‘us vs. them’ mentality have our country more cracked up than Humpty Dumpty after his spill. Unlike Mr. Dumpty, we possess the ability to “put ourselves back together again.”

It’s good to have goals and desires. I wouldn’t tell anyone that they will never be part of the 1%.  Sure, if you look at the odds, it’s not likely. Do the most successful people usually pay attention to “the odds?” What is the 1% anyways? How are the 1% supposed to act? When I speak about what’s wrong in this country, I hope those folks are listening too. In fact, many of them are. If you are a wealthy person in this country now, you should make your beliefs known. Otherwise, many Americans are going to think you are a greedy, self-absorbed, get money at all costs, type of person.

The truth is, we should not point fingers at anyone. We should focus on solutions. Blaming a whole group of people never works. We can’t fall into the trap of “us vs. them.’ I would gladly take the salary of a 1%er and so would most of us. Want to know the main reason I’d take that salary? To help my friends, family and country. Want to know the second reason? So that I can show people how it’s supposed to be done.

If the game has turned into money and hierarchy (I agree that it has), then we have to do something to take those options off the table. There are already several laws and a constitutional amendment written to remove the money completely out of our political system. We put the right people in office, it gets better. Especially considering the people with the money are who really runs the country. Not our politicians or our government.

Surely you can’t believe that all the wealthy people and politicians in the country are greedy and don’t care about anything, right? I agree that too many of them are, but all of them? I say we do what the GOP is so good at doing. Pounding the message into your head. However, I think it should be done with one, very important, stark difference. Instead of using fear mongering, we use facts, statistics and entertainment. That’s what I (and many, many others) do…and it seems to work. Especially when people realize that I’m doing it that way on purpose and that, while I have the ability to get dirty, punk you out, point fingers or flat-out fight you, I also know those negative ways to get at people ultimately don’t work. It is a struggle, especially when emotions are running high. I won’t always say or do the right thing, but as long as I try and my heart is in the right place, I feel like we’ll be fine. Now, if the people who share my attitude, beliefs, etc. could stop being so negative or hopeless, then we’d be getting somewhere.

The people who are against what I believe? I pay attention to them, but I don’t let them control me. I hope we can either come to a happy medium, agree to disagree or realize (and this is the most common one and definitely one the powers that be would like you to ignore) that we have far more in common than we don’t. We show those ignorant to what the average American goes though what it’s “really” like by being matter of fact, humorous or sincere. That’s how they’ll realize. In fact, more people are “waking up” today than ever before. If that can’t give you some hope, I don’t know what will.

If we can turn our attention towards the realistic ways that it could work, there might actually be a chance for it TO work. If we fixate on why it won’t or can’t, it most certainly will never work out. They want you to be negative and afraid, don’t you see? I don’t care how rough the odds look. We’ve been here (and worse) before and the power of the people to unite, come together, stare adversity in the face and say, “screw you!” has always benefitted this country. At a bare minimum, we can all vote, make our opinions known and encourage others to do the same. When you continuously fixate on all the ‘nays,’ ‘no’s,’ ‘never gonna happen’s’ and ‘not in our lifetime’s,’ then you will get what you ask for. For me? I’ll never let people like that dictate how things are going to go. It all starts with each and every one of us looking in the mirror and asking ourselves if the way we’re behaving and reacting is for the best.

The only thing that pisses me off more than the shady tactics that many people who oppose my beliefs use are the people who believe what I believe, yet fall for that shadiness. I feel it’s my job and duty to try to help fix that. Like many others, I could choose to take an easier route to the top by pointing fingers, fear mongering, taking sides (it cracks me up that people really feel like there’s only two sides to any of this), etc. Instead, though? I choose to believe. That’s more than, unfortunately, most can say now. Not for long, though…

What can I say? I’m an eternal optimist. Things will work out and the only decision to really be concerned with is whether to hop on board the positivity train now or to be placed on it nicely by someone like me when it inevitably pulls into all of our stations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

