Inspiration for a Revolution

The Occupy Wall Street movement has many Americans talking. What would a modern-day revolution look like? What should we do about the influence of money on our government? At this point, the protests have remained peaceful but the powers that be are most certainly mobilizing their forces to squash the swelling support. In the weeks to come, we will undoubtably see more false reports and propaganda designed to confuse the public and take away from the message of the movement. They will use power, fear, money and brainwashed people to do whatever it takes to eradicate the protests and distort the message. It will be incredibly important for the OWS movement to stay strong and organized.

This is not an unique situation. The American people have shown throughout history that we can look adversity in the face, stand up to it and better ourselves. We are able to come together, focus on our common ground and literally demand change. We gain the inspiration to do this through many avenues. One of the most popular has always been music. Therefore, I present a list of songs to inspire strength, focus and unity for anyone and everyone who supports the 99%.

Revolution – The Beatles

“But when you want money for people with minds that hate/All I can tell is brother you have to wait/Don’t you know it’s gonna be all right!”

A Change Is Gonna ComeSam Cooke

“It’s been too hard living but I’m afraid to die/I don’t know what’s up there beyond the sky/It’s been a long, long time coming/but I know a change gonna come, oh yes it will”

Times They Are A-Changin’ Bob Dylan

“Come senators, congressmen, please heed the call/Don’t stand in the doorway, don’t block up the halls/For he that gets hurt will be he that has stalled/There’s a battle outside and it’s raging/It’ll soon shake your windows and rattle your walls/For the times, they are a-changin'”

Inner City Blues – Marvin Gaye

“Inflation no chance to increase finance/Bills pile up sky high/Send that boy off to die/Make me wanna holler/The way they do my life/Make me wanna holler/The way they do my life”

Fortunate SonCreedence Clearwater Revival

“Some folks are born silver spoon in hand,/Lord, don’t they help themselves, oh/But when the taxman comes to the door/Lord, the house looks like a rummage sale, yes/It ain’t me, it ain’t me, I ain’t no millionaire’s son, no/It ain’t me, it ain’t me; I ain’t no fortunate one, no!”

Get Up, Stand Up – Bob Marley

“Most people think, Great God will come from the skies/Take away everything and make everybody feel high/But if you know what life is worth, you will look for yours on earth/And now you see the light, you stand up for your rights. Jah!/Get up, stand up! (Jah, Jah!)/Stand up for your rights!”

Fight The Power– Public Enemy

“What we need is awareness, we can’t get careless/You say what is this?/My beloved lets get down to business/Mental self defensive fitness/(Yo) bum rush the show/You gotta go for what you know/Make everybody see, in order to fight the powers that be/Lemme hear you say…Fight the Power!”

Killing In The Name Of…Rage Against The Machine

“Those who died are justified, for wearing the badge, they’re the chosen whites/You justify those that died by wearing the badge, they’re the chosen whites/Come on! Uggh! Yeah! Come on! Uggh!/Fuck you, I won’t do what you tell m/Fuck you, I won’t do what you tell me!”

We Had To Tear This Mother Fucker Up – Ice Cube

“I told you all what happened and you heard it, read it/but all you could call me was anti-Semitic/Regret it-nope, said it-yep/Listen to my big black boots as I step/brothas had to break you off somethin, give Bush a push/But your National Guard ain’t hard/You had to hit Rodney to stop me cuz you know what?/We woulda tore this muthafucka up!”

Uprising – Muse

“Rise up and take the power back/it’s time the fat cats had a heart attack/You know that their time’s coming to an end/We have to unify and watch our flag ascend/They will not force us/They will stop degrading us/They will not control us/We will be victorious, so come on!”

2 thoughts on “Inspiration for a Revolution

  1. etomczyk says:

    Brian: Great selection of songs and they all underscore what seems to be the groundswell fron the Occupy Wall Street movement. I stopped by because I noticed you had subscribed to my blog and I wanted to thank you. That was very kind, and I really appreciate it.

    I am very impressed with your blog and happy to know you’re out here. I’ll be stopping by often. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

